Shadowless

sprout opens

the gathering night

 

the mysterious source uncovered

(inside: pure memory)

waiting, still

 

dark figures murmuring

about the weak nature of things,

– listening

 

travelling light is important

(only a shade of melancholy)

they say

 

shadowless fingers don’t intertwine,

hardly stay on the right side

the stars

 

if they’re just masks with empty eyes

(pointing the finger)

who can explain for all that sky

the reason?

Giudecca Island, Venice - Italy
Giudecca Island, Venice – Italy

# 2

4 thoughts on “Shadowless

  1. Francina May 7, 2013 / 7:04 am

    very thought provoking poem and it leaves you pondering when reading is done .
    groetjes, Francina

    • The right mood May 16, 2013 / 10:10 am

      Thanks for your comment! Writing poems in English is really hard, it takes me ages before finding a “tolerable” verse… I’d like to have your ability 🙂

      • Francina May 17, 2013 / 5:17 am

        Yes , it is hard to write in English, I know. It”s for me easier in Dutch, believe me ,despite the fact I have lived for 12 years in English speaking country.. I always doubt if the grammar is correct in English. It’s also the reason I looked more into Eastern poetry to find a way to write shorter and more compact poems. just to avoid these grammar iffies 🙂 What I have noticed too over the years is that in fact I can only write the original poem in either English or Dutch. Not really in both languages at the same time, because one of them will feel like a translation and will not read as well as the original. Or that is what I think.
        It’s hard work for us, writing in English.. 🙂 And you are doing very well! You will be alright 🙂
        Ciao, Francina

        • The right mood May 23, 2013 / 1:24 pm

          You’re right, Francina. Words work and sound in different ways and what sounds good in Italian sometimes doesn’t work at all in English.
          Parts of this poem are different from the original one. But I like them both. But differences make things richer, in my opinion. Thanks for your support.

Leave a Reply

